Chairman and Librarian: Lewis Hocking 01872 863630
Vice Chairman: Martin Hughes
Secretary: Yvonne Frankson 07957 907769
Treasurers: Barry & Kate Gaskill
Recorder: Phil Davey 01872 865400
Meetings are held at Carnon Downs Village Hall on the first Tuesday of each month,
Commencing at 7.15 p.m. Subscriptions £7.50, visitors £2.00
The Society welcomed Cornish Bards Bert Biscoe and Pol Hodge, performing as Dew Vardh, for their New Years’ entertainment. Bert the poet, musician, vocalist and Pol, the Cornish linguist, delighted members with their very amusing and topical songs, poems, Cornish dialect stories and repartee. Bert’s vocals and local poems with Pols’ observation of towns and villages inspiring stories delivered firstly in Cornish and then English provided much laughter for everyone. With perfect timing and understanding between them one hour passed so quickly it left the members wanting more. Following a cup ‘tay’ and saffron cake the evening finished with a rousing rendition of Trelawney.
Our next meeting will be on Tuesday February 5th when local Councillor Phil Allen will be bringing us up to date with the ‘Feock Trails’ a series of nine short walks around the Parish that comprise information posts, QR codes for added historical facts and many geochaches on the routes.The meeting commences at 7.15pm with doors open from 6.45pm. All are very Welcome.
The History of the Cornish Range, our Victorian and Heating appliance was the subject of a fascinating presentation by John Woodward (JW Engineering). John has restored 12 ranges to working order and manufactured 7 new ones.
Early designs were an open fire, then a grate, then accessories with hooks and some were spit driven by pulleys and weights and there was a scullery range that heated water only. Members were unaware that each County had its own oven range for example Yorkshire, Plymouth and in fact the West Cornwall range was different to the ones in North and East Cornwall. They were all different styles and working arrangements and varied in size from two foot six wide for a small cottage to six feet wide for a large house.
The Cornish design was proven as the most efficient as the heat was passed over, down the side and underneath the oven before reaching the chimney and this became the recognised design for 100 years from about 1830 to 1930, hence the name Cornish Range, the original cost being 35 shillings. The modern day AGA is based on this design.
Terrell & Rogers were one of many makers of the ranges, they had two Foundry’s in Redruth, each maker having their own decorative relief’s on the cast surrounds. John explained the unique design of the firebox and how the unburnt cinders would fall through the grid and could be reused with the fine ash finally ending up in the ash box at the base. 140 red fire bricks bedded in flexible lime mortar were used to form the fire back. The Nicolas Holman Foundry from St Just supplied ranges to Trinity House for their Lighthouses. John answered many interesting questions before being warmly thanked by Lewis Hocking Chairman.
The Social Evening and bring & share supper will be on Friday 11th January commencing at 7.15pm.
The History of Feock Parish that is contained in 9 circular walks was the subject of an extremely interesting presentation by local councillor Phil Allen. This was a project that began in 2015 after consultation with local residents with the aim to encourage the use of the local network of footpaths. Information posts are positioned along the routes at landmarks and places of interest. Phil mentioned the arrival of the Celtic Saints from Wales, Ireland and Brittany who were responsible for the chapels and churches in picturesque locations around the Fal, the early tin streaming in the Bissoe Valley and Devoran that led on to underground mining and the building of quays at Devoran, Point and Pill Creek for the export of ore and import of coal for the mines.
Pill Quay was built by Thomas Daniell who worked in association with William Lemon of Carclew. Daniell’s son acquired the Trelissick Estate in 1813. Pill Creek was once the centre of the oyster fishery on the Fal, oysters being a staple diet in those days. Many historical photographs of the area were shown including the Mining areas, Point Smelting Works, boat building at Penpol, and stained glass windows at Feock Church depicting St Kea and St Feock.
If you would like to enjoy fabulous views along with a little bit of local history the Nine Feock Parish walks in and around Devoran, Carnon Downs, Penpol, Point, Feock and Trelissick are available free from The Parish Council Offices, Market Street, Devoran. TR3 6QA.
Colours: Black & Scarlet
Blacksmith's Shop 1940s